Ancient Light

Ancient Light

Banville John

For fans of Colm Toibin's Brooklyn and Julian Barnes' The Sense of an Ending, the story of obsessive younglove and the power of grief - Ancient Light is the best novel yet from the Booker Prize winner of The Sea 'Billy Gray was my best friend and I fell in love with his mother.' Alexander Cleave, an actor who thinks his best days are behind him,remembers his first unlikely affair as a teenage boy in a small town in 1950s Ireland: the illicit meetings in a rundown cottage outside town, assignations in the back of his lover's car on sunny mornings and rain-soaked afternoons. And with these early memories comes something sharper and much darker - the more recent recollection of the actor's own daughter's suicide ten years before.

'I should like to be in love again, I should like to fall in love again, just once more.' Ancient Light is the story of a life rendered brilliantly vivid: the obsession and selfishness of young love and the terrifying shock of grief. It is a dazzling novel, funny, utterly pleasurable and devastatingly moving in the same moment. 'He is a master, and his prose gives continuous, sensual delight' Martin Amis on John Banville John Banville was born in Wexford, Ireland, in 1945. He is the author of fourteen previous novels including The Sea, which won the 2005 Man Booker Prize. He was recently awarded the Franz Kafka Prize.

Kúpiť na webe Rezervovať v kníhkupectve
38,95 €
 

Dodávateľ nemá titul na sklade. V aktuálnej situácií nevieme dodanie odhadnúť.
Vydavateľ Penguin Books
Počet strán 244
Rok vydania 2012
Jazyk Angličtina
Väzba Mäkká väzba / Paperback
EAN 9780670920624
Adresa titulu https://www.artforum.sk/katalog/2262/ancient-light
'I should like to be in love again, I should like to fall in love again, just once more.' Ancient Light is the story of a life rendered brilliantly vivid: the obsession and selfishness of young love and the terrifying shock of grief. It is a dazzling novel, funny, utterly pleasurable and devastatingly moving in the same moment. 'He is a master, and his prose gives continuous, sensual delight' Martin Amis on John Banville John Banville was born in Wexford, Ireland, in 1945. He is the author of fourteen previous novels including The Sea, which won the 2005 Man Booker Prize. He was recently awarded the Franz Kafka Prize.

Ďalšie z kategórie cudzojazyčná beletria